top of page

Where Should I Start? | 5 Minutes to Improve Your Skin

Updated: Sep 29, 2020

Are you someone new at skincare and want to start skincare? Come and let me introduce you step by step and what you should buy for better of your skin.


First: Know what skin type you are.

Human skin type is divide by 5 : dry, sensitive, normal, oily and combination.


The Bare-Face Method: to test what skin type you are

Cleanse your face thoroughly with a mild cleanser and gently pat dry. Leave your skin bare (and do not apply any additional moisturizers, serums or treatments). After 30 minutes, check your cheeks, chin, nose and forehead for any shine. After another 30 minutes, evaluate whether your skin feels parched, especially if you smile or make any other facial expressions. If your skin feels tight, your skin is likely dry. If there is noticeable shine on your nose and forehead, your skin is mostly likely normal/combination. If there is shine on your cheeks in addition to your forehead and nose, you most likely have oily skin.


Second: Basic things at skincare for a better skin

I know you are new here, let me introduce to you what things you should own by yourselves for the skincare beginner:

1. Micellar water or cleansing water (its up to you what kind you want to buy)

2. Moisturizer

3. Sunscreen (its a must)


What is the function of those things? Why?

1. Micellar water or cleansing water is for double cleanse.

For me, after I try to double cleanse my face for more than one year, my face is healthier and feel cleaner than before. Not only that, but my acne also decrease if compare to before double cleanse.

I do double cleanse only when I go back from outside, even just go outside for a moment. The main reason is fine dust that caused by vehicle and feeling insecure of how dirty outside, even I know that my room is also not too clean. If we don't double cleanse, those fine dust will stay still at your skin even you already wash your face. I do find some satisfactions when I see my cotton after cleanse with cleansing water.


2. Moisturizer to maintain your skin hydrated

No mater what skin type you are, moisturizer is a must. Keep your skin hydrated is one of the important things. After you cleanse your face, sometime you feel your skin too tight. It means that dehydrated, so moisturizer is a must.

If you have a oil skin, try to use gel base of moisturizer or use as light as possible moisturizer to your skin. So when you wake up in the morning you will not find out that your skin is too greasy.

If you have a dry skin, try to use cream base of moisturizer, or you can do double moisturizer if you use water base moisturizer. So you will feel that your skin is not too dry as before.

If you have a sensitive skin, try to know what kind of sensitive skin you are. Is it sensitive of alcohol or other things. If your skin is sensitive to alcohol, please avoid it. For sensitive skin, I recommend to use moisturizer that ingredients is from nature and try to use calming moisturizer. Since calming moisturizer could calm down your skin.


3. Sunscreen, keep your skin protected

This is a must. No matter where do you live, what season is currently, this is a must even when you stay at home.

Sun exposure can be very harmful for human, since it contains UVA and UVB. What is UVA and UVB? UVA is for aging. Since UVA could damage collagen and elastic fiber (dermis layer of the skin), so it could wrinkles, sagging skin and enlarge the pores.

UVA also could cause skin cancer, if intensity is quite big because it can damage skin genetic.

UVB is more for sunburn. Example: if you go outside and you feel your skin kind of burn, this caused by UVB. Even though UVA also cause sunburn, but sunburn caused UVB is more ache.

So how to avoid sun exposure?

There are two ways, first use umbrella when ever you go and where ever you go. I know some of us think that this idea is stupid, but this is one of the method to avoid UVA and UVB.

Second use sunscreen. Here some recommendation how to chose your sunscreen.

1. SPF: Sun Protection Factor. This measure how strong the sunscreen to protect skin towards sunburn, without any information about reapply.

2. PA: with this symbol or letter, means that the sunscreen that you choose can protect your skin from UVA and UVB.

3. +: more + symbols in PA, means the higher level of protection from UVA.

I personally recommend to use SPF 30-35 for daily use, because as you use the higher degree of SPF it will absorb more sun light and could darker your skin color. When you go to outside and play with water or when you go to beach, I recommend you to use SPF 50 because you will need it to extra protect your skin.

It is a myth if you said that higher SPF could protect your skin even better. It means that time to reapply the sunscreen is longer than the one who SPF is lower.


When I started to do those 3 simple steps everyday, I realize that my face is better than before. I know it will be exhausted for some of you, I do feel it too but after do it for three months I feel my skin improved, even it looks glowy even when I don't wear any makeup.


I believe if you do these 3 little steps, your skin will be healthier and better than before. Most important things, you have to buy those product that are suitable for your skin and buy at trusted shop and trusted brand.


I do have some recommendation for dry skin type (based on my experience) :

1. Micellar water or Cleansing water:

I recommend to use Bioderma with pink cap or you can buy Innisfree Green Tea Cleansing Water. I already post a review regarding to that product. If you want to take a look, please click here.

2. Moisturizer:

I really like Green Tea Seed Serum, even though it more suitable for oily or normal skin but if you know what tips and trick to use it, it also good for dry skin. Click here for the review and tips regarding to this product.

Now days there are a lot of Aloe Vera based product, like Nature Republic Aloe Vera, Innsifree, Etude House, and other brand also produced it. It is gel based and good for overnight mask. You can also use this product as your moisturizer, but just use it a little bit.


3. SPF

I use Emina Sun Protection SPF 30. I like this product because it absorb really fast and not leaving any white trail on my face. But sometimes when your face burnt, you will feel itchy when you apply this product.


Those are my recommendation and suggestion when you want to start your skincare on daily basis. I know it can be hard for some of you to make a new habit, but try to do it consistently and you will feel the difference.


If you have any problems or any questions, please hit me up at Instagram DM @brigittasays for faster response or you can comment down below. Thank you, hope you can do your best for your healthier skin.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page